You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Acid Jazz - CD Reviews>A Very Still Life by Jack Kevorkian and Morpheus Quintet

A Very Still Life by Jack Kevorkian and Morpheus Quintet

Starts off with tentative piano strikes, as if testing the waters to see if the climate of the big ol' world is cold and unaccepting or maybe, just maybe the door's open a crack to the possibility that there might be something more to the image you have fixed in your mind. Ya, it's a shock to think of Jack Kevorkian breathing softly into a flute, and that he actually wrote all these songs (save one), but you get over that quickly enough by just listening to the sounds that are very much grooviness (save one: in strange loops, a bordering on too flowery power cheese that only irks). Ends on a maybe too ominous a note, being just a wee predictable, but with stuff in between that's worthy of multiple spins. Album art by Jack, too.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Jack Kevorkian and Morpheus Quintet
  • CD Title: A Very Still Life
  • Genre: Acid Jazz
  • Year Released: 1998
  • Record Label: Lucid Subjazz
  • Musicians: Jack Kevorkian (flute)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments