You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Acid Jazz - CD Reviews>Eclectica by Tim Wallace

Eclectica by Tim Wallace

Suggesting a mild mix, the name of this album: Eclectic, is understated.

The songs on this CD express an extreme range of sounds the best of all of them.

Hearing a light flight of Tim Wallace’ flute, getting into the groove during Land of Make Believe , followed by Killer Joe, then the switch Michelle Le Comte lets loose with her perfect pitch in a light opera, Con te partiro. And, it works.

The group doubles back with a hot rendition of Route 66.

And, who would think Monk’s Round About Midnight on Wallace’ mellow sax, backed by John Epps’ funky slide on the guitar and Comte’s vocals, woos the listener into the composer’s deep world.

Tossing in a little Bebop and a slice of Gospel brings the listener through several moods during listening time of this CD.

The Tim Wallace Band has been playing since 1989, providing pleasure to audiences throughout the San Francisco Bay Area.

Now, they are putting their music out here, for the rest of us. Plenty of variety will keep the listener pleasantly involved in Eclectica.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Tim Wallace
  • CD Title: Eclectica
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Tim Wallace Music
  • Tracks: Land of Make Believe: Latin, Jazz Vocal, Killer Joe: Smooth, New World: Vocal Pop, Friday Afternoon Blues: Blues/Latin, Con te partiro: Vocal light opera, December: Acid jazz, Route 66: Swing, Josie: Smooth, Round Midnight: Funk Jazz, Now’s the Time: Bebop, Jazz Vocals, Te Quiero: Latin, James: Contemporary, Amazing Grace: Gospel/Spiritual.
  • Musicians: Tim Wallace: Flute, Soprano, Alto, Tenor Saxes and Vocals Michelle Le Comte: Vocals, Percussion John Epp: All Guitars Jarrell Irvin: Bass, Keyboards Scott DeTurk: Keyboards Tommy Kesecker: Drums, Percussion
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments