You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Ambient Jazz - CD Reviews>Bluephoria by Jesse Batiuk

Bluephoria by Jesse Batiuk

Guitarist Jesse Batiuk's debut release Bluephoria features a blend of simple melodies and smooth improvisations. He is featured on all instruments, with the guitar as his main instrument of choice. Batiuk got his start in the San Diego area and currently resides in Los Angeles.

"Porcelain" is a mid-tempo number featuring Batiuk's introverted style of playing. Gentle strumming over a repeating melody, Batiuk begins to improvise in and around the melody delivering an aura of beauty and poise.

Another mid-tempo piece, "Essential" continues to explore Batiuk's gentle style along with rich harmonic inflections invoking a sense of calm.

"Drown" is another vehicle for Batiuk to explore. One senses that along the way, he was influenced by the likes of David Gilmore. There's a trance like quality to this piece that is reminiscent of some of Gilmore's work.

A fat rounded sound begins "Definitions." Batiuk's clean delivery at times reminds one of Nick Drake's unique approach to the guitar.

The title track, "Bluephoria," continues to highlight Batiuk's melodic weaving. Creating a tapestry of sound that is both pleasing and stimulating to the ear.

Although there seems to be a sameness running throughout, Batiuk's style of playing, works has a way of inviting the listener into his world. A world of melody and gentle hypnotic strumming. Using the song as a vehicle to his emerging skills rather than a melody in and of itself, bodes well for this up and coming talent. Bluephoria is a springboard to future potential releases from an artist coming into his own.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Jesse Batiuk
  • CD Title: Bluephoria
  • Genre: Ambient Jazz
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Tracks: La Costa, Bluephoria, Porcelain, Null, Definitions, Essential, Awakenings, Drown
  • Musicians: Jesse Batiuk (guitar, all instrumentation)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments