You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Ambient Jazz - CD Reviews>Reflections by Jeff Gibbs

Reflections by Jeff Gibbs

Jeff Gibbs, a talented pianist, has an interesting claim to fame: two tracks from his album, "Reflections", were used for the soundtrack of Michael Moore's documentary, "Bowling for Columbine". Even if you're a republican and somewhat disenchanted by that information...don't hold it against Mr. Gibbs. Listen to his music.

Gibbs' solo-piano, quasi-new age approach to composition and performance cannot help bring comparisons to George Winston. Heck, even his album cover for "Reflections" would fit nicely in the picturesque landscape photo album that Winston uses on his covers. Quite naturally, the peaceful-looking photo is an excellent indication of what musical journey you're about to embark on. Gibbs' music is very soft, very beautiful, very peaceful and would be a remarkably good choice for a quite evening in front of the fireplace sipping wine.

Is this music groundbreaking? Hardly. But that's not the purpose of this album. Like Winston, it's music to put your thoughts on hold to. "Winter's Eve" is a lovely tune, a gentle piece that breaks into a nice upbeat tempo towards the end. "Starscape" is my favorite composition on this album...immediately calling to mind the sparkling heavens above (egad, where did THAT cheesy metaphor come from?!). Either way, this is a cd to zone to. One tune often sounds like the next.

The hardest instrument to record well is the acoustic grand piano. The Chesky label was one label that did a fine job of getting this right. Perhaps my AKG Studio Monitor headphones are start to disintegrate...but when I listened to this cd on several sources, I found that the strong notes distort. And that is very distracting.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Jeff Gibbs
  • CD Title: Reflections
  • Genre: Ambient Jazz
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Record Label: Allula Records
  • Musicians: Jeff Gibbs (piano)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments