You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Big Band / Swing - CD Reviews>Chubby Takes Over by Chubby Jackson

Chubby Takes Over by Chubby Jackson

It should be mentioned up front that this is almost the same band that Woody Herman brought to the Everest studios in September 1958. Chubby Jackson was part of many of Herman’s touring and recording units of the era. Jackson enjoyed the opportunity to make "big band" music in his own mold. He had, at the time, been more involved with small groups. The material is re-issued from Everest BR5009 and SD1009 originally released in 1959 but recorded July 25-28 and August 1, 1958. Empire Musicwerks include Nat Hentoff’s liner notes from the first edition.

Chubby Jackson (1918-2003) began playing bass in the mid 1930s and enjoyed a prosperous career in the era of the big bands. He recorded first with the Raymond Scott orchestra in 1940 before beginning several years and dozens of record sessions with Woody Herman. He hit the studios with such diverse units as Jan Savitt, Neal Hefti, Johnny Bothwell, Flip Phillips and Georgie Auld. Jackson’s talent was acknowledged in 1946 when he was part of the Esquire Magazine Award Winners, The Metronone Magazine All-Stars and the touring unit of Norman Granz’ Jazz At The Philharmonic.

The bassist had a great love for the great arrangers of the time and persuaded Woody Herman to hire Ralph Burns and Neal Hefti. This recording includes arrangements by Nat Pierce, Manny Albam, Al Cohn, Bob Brookmeyer and the legendary Ernie Wilkins.

Jackson includes a trio of his own compositions "Ballad For Jai," "Cover The Earth With Your Loveliness" and "Loch Lamond." The latter features a rare extended drum solo by Don Lamond. Manny Albam contributed a couple of tongue in cheek arrangements of Dixieland numbers "Alexander’s Ragtime Band" and "Saints." Five muted trumpets state the melody on Cole Porter’s "It’s Delovely" featuring solos by Bob Brookmeyer, Al Cohn and Sam Most.

Chubby Takes Over is a pleasant tribute to the memory of one of the big band era’s most prominent bassists. The twelve tracks span the work of some of the finest arrangers in jazz at the time.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Chubby Jackson
  • CD Title: Chubby Takes Over
  • Genre: Big Band / Swing
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Reissue Original Release: 1959
  • Record Label: Empire Musicwerks
  • Tracks: Loch Lamond, Tradition, A Ballad For Jai, When The Saints Go Marching In, Oh Look At Me Now, Mt. Everest, Yes Indeed, It’s Delovely, Cover The Earth With Your Loveliness, Alexander’s Ragtime Band, Woodshed, Hail Hail The Herd’s All Here.
  • Musicians: Bernie Glow, Irving “Marky” Markowitz, Ernie Royal, Al Stewart, Nick Travis (trumpets), Bob Brookmeyer, Jim Dahl, Bill Elton, Tom Mitchell (trombones), Sam Marowitz (alto sax), Sam Most (flute, alto sax, clarinet), Al Cohn, Pete Mondello (tenor sax), Danny Bank (baritone sax), Marty Napoleon (piano), Chubby Jackson (bass, leader), Don Lamond (drums). Joe Ferrante (trumpet and Dick Hixon (trombone) replace Glow and Mitchell on tracks 7-12. Arrangers include Manny Albam, Nat Pierce, Al Cohn, Ernie Wilkins, Fred Carlin & Bob Brookmeyer.
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments