You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Big Band / Swing - CD Reviews>Fake Book by Skip Heller

Fake Book by Skip Heller

Skip Heller’s Fake Book is anything but fake!

Ten tracks on this CD bring back all the greatness of the masters’ hits, as Heller honors the artists he admires most.

Playing as if they have been together for life, these artists make all the tunes come alive with rhythm, smooth, cool and a touch of groove.

It is magic in the moment with a blast from the past.

Resurfacing after his last big hit, Battle In Seattle, Skip Heller has gathered a group of hot artists, including Robert Drasnin, who squeezes the sax so tight, it makes your knees weak.

Track one, The Yodel, was chosen to allow John Wicks to work out on his searing "rhythmic pulse thing," as Heller says. "Wicks is a true master of dynamics and texture," says Heller.

Sophisticated Savage gives Joe Doria a spotlight on his raging organ solo.

Jay Roulston burns on trumpet during Cold Duck Time

(Just)Squeeze Me, Heller says is a tribute to Wild Bill Davis Trio with Johnny Hodges. Robert Drasnin blows sweet, while Wicks does a hot backing on drums. This tune will make you sit down and take notice.

Several familiar, yet mysterious, grooves take place during Powerhouse, including an exciting run by Stan Ridgway on harmonica.

Throughout this album, Heller shines on every lick with his guitar.

Fake Book is pure sensual talent expressing itself through six guys who know how to jam.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Skip Heller
  • CD Title: Fake Book
  • Genre: Big Band / Swing
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Hyena Records
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments