You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Blues - CD Reviews>Kissing In 29 Days by JW-Jones Blues Band

Kissing In 29 Days by JW-Jones Blues Band

JW-Jones is back with his fourth release for the NorthernBlues label. The young band from Ottawa impressed everyone with their 2002 disc Bogart’s Bounce and followed up in 2004 with the equally impressive My Kind Of Evil.

Jones is a fine guitarist, vocalist and songwriter with a healthy musical curiosity. His compositions are up to date, but Jones exhibits great respect for blues history. His guest on the first album was piano man Gene Taylor and harp king Kim Wilson showed up on the second CD. This time the special guest is the venerable David "Fathead" Newman.

The title tune rocks along in the Jones band’s trademark burning style and boogie-woogie rhythm. We liked "I Don’t Want To Hear," too. The entire horn section is pulled in to the arrangement and Patrick Camiré delivers a very nice trumpet solo. "Parasomnia" is a lively jump instrumental that demonstrates the young leader’s guitar prowess. David "Fathead" Newman and Brian "James" Asselin step into the spotlight with some fine sax interplay.

JW-Jones penned eleven of the 14 songs on this disc. "Fly To You," "Got Me Chasin’" and "No Love" are outstanding examples.

It would be unforgivable if I didn’t acknowledge the heart of this blues band. Drummer Artie Makris, pianist Geoff Daye and bassist Nathan Morris keep the band on track all the way. It’s nice to hear a young blues band utilizing a good old acoustic bass.

Kissing In 29 Days will appeal to most blues fans and samples can be heard at Amazon or the label’s website. Read about JW-Jones in the April/May issue of Blues Revue.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: JW-Jones Blues Band
  • CD Title: Kissing In 29 Days
  • Genre: Blues
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: NorthernBlues Music
  • Tracks: Kissing In 29 Days, Hey Girl, All My Money, I Don’t Want To Hear, Games, Parasomnia, Fly To You, Got Me Chasin’, Way Too Late, Hallelujah I Love Her So, Pretty Little Sweet Thing, Standing In Line, No Love, Here She Comes.
  • Musicians: JW-Jones (leader, guitar, vocals, drums on track 12), Nathan Morris (string bass), Artie Makris (drums), Geoff Daye (piano, organ). Special Guest: David “Fathead” Newman (tenor sax on three tracks). Guests: Brian “James” Asselin (tenor sax), Frank Scanga (baritone sax, harmonica), Michael Dalrymple (baritone sax), Brady Leafloor (alto sax), Patrick Camiré (lead trumpet), Rick Ragno (trumpet), Mannie Makris (acoustic guitar).
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments