You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Blues - CD Reviews>Poor Boy Blue by Jim Capaldi

Poor Boy Blue by Jim Capaldi

The SPV label has certainly gained a head of steam this year by signing on some legendary acts with musical oomph. Jim Capaldi is the latest addition to their ever-growing stable of artists.

Poor Boy Blue is the latest offering from the legendary Traffic drummer, singer/songwriter. Long time collaborator Steve Winwood is a guest on the recording session along with the extraordinary guitarists Gary Moore and Mick Dolan.

This is an exceptional album. The title track starts things off with a bang featuring ballsy blues rockin’ guitar and a powerful vocal signature by Capaldi. The next track"Edge of Love" is the other side of the tracks with a softer more polished pop sound. The following track "Into The Void" has a harder edge and a classic rock feel to it. Within the first three tracks, you get the talent on this album featured in different lights. From that point forward, you get more of the same.

Every aspect of Capaldi’s range gets exposure; he does not leave a stone unturned while giving his audience a consistently superb performance from start to finish. You end up with 12 tracks of potent blues-rock and pop few can muster in these days of over exploited belly buttons and voluptuous blonde bombshells with no talent. Capaldi is the real deal, a time tested true talent that continues to make great music without fail.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Jim Capaldi
  • CD Title: Poor Boy Blue
  • Genre: Blues
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: SPV
  • Tracks: Poor Boy Blue Edge Of Love Into The Void Breathless Getting Stronger Secrets In The Dark Long Legs Scream It To The Dark California Sunset Bright Fighter I’ve Been Changing Now Is The Time
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments