You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Blues - CD Reviews>Talkin’ Fishbowl Blues by Queen Esther

Talkin’ Fishbowl Blues by Queen Esther

A commonly used term in music now is Black Americana. I am hearing it more often now and it is because the music fits the culture that drives it. Regardless of placing music into a particular genre or neat little corner somewhere at your local record store, this is just great music, plain and simple; it does not require a specific label to understand it.

Talkin’ Fishbowl Blues is the title of the album, yet another interesting use of words if I do say so myself. The key reference is the blues. Everything that this diverse artist delivers is born in the foundation of the blues. Rock, gospel, rhythm and blues, country (this is were the hillbilly comes in right?), all part of the blues pathways, find there way into the song and music of this intriguing recording. The album gets a real kick in the pants when it opens with "Promise Me." Tracks like the soulful "So Real" reach down and grab your innards. The guitar playing is red-hot on this track, well for that matter, on the entire album. All 12 tracks had something different to offer me and I enjoyed every single one.

Esther has a bevy of talented musicians contributing to her album and its all quality with oodles of diversity to fit the mold and mood of each track. Every track stands alone, a tower of singularity and purpose. There is no repetition and any time for displacement of time or rhythm in a song on this album, it is a solid representation of the artist and her substance. What a great example of an empowered woman living the dream and playing her music with passion and heart. I can understand why the word Queen comes first in her name, she is well on her way to becoming musical royalty. Legends like B.B. King would dig this girl and her vibe. She is modern, yet not flashy while holding true to herself with firmness and a forthright approach and style.

If you happen to be looking for something fresh and exciting, something most of have not heard in a while, Queen Esther is your ticket to paradise.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Queen Esther
  • CD Title: Talkin’ Fishbowl Blues
  • Genre: Blues
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: El Recordings
  • Tracks: Promise Me Shine Talkin Fishbowl Blues Taster's Choice Love So Real New York City Leave Me Alone Get It Right This Time The Way of the World Help Me Stand By Your Man'
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments