You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz - CD Reviews>Brazilian Classics by Eliane Elias

Brazilian Classics by Eliane Elias

Sixteen recordings from piano virtuoso Eliane Elias have been assembled in this enjoyable collection.

An artist who uniquely bridges classical and jazz music, Elias has also built up an impressive repertoire of songs from her native Brazil.

The tracks here have been culled from six albums that Elias recorded between 1989 and 1997. Five of the songs come from her "Paulistana" album. Four come from "Eliane Elias Plays Jobim." Since the theme of the disc is "Brazilian Classics" it comes as no surprise that nine of the songs featured were either written or co-written by Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Standouts include Luis Bonfa’s "Black Orpheus (Manha De Carnaval)" performed by the trio of Elias, bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Jack De Johnette. There’s also Elias’ spirited playing on Jobim’s "One Note Samba," recorded by the same trio with the addition of Nana Vasconcelos on percussions. The pianist’s classical flourishes are evident on several numbers, most notably the dramatic solo "O Polichinelo (Clown)."

Although there’s not a false note on the CD, there are also no surprises. All of the recordings have been previously released.

Fans who already own Elias’ CDs won’t find anything new here. The only reason for them to buy the disc is to have the Brazilian songs in one package.

But, for listeners who are new to Elias’ passionate playing or who enjoy Brazilian jazz, this collection is recommended.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Eliane Elias
  • CD Title: Brazilian Classics
  • Genre: Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Record Label: Blue Note
  • Tracks: Passarium, Chega De Saudade, Carioca Nights (Noites Cariocas), Garota De Ipanema (Girl From Ipanema), Milton Nascimento Medley, Waters Of March/Agua De Beber, One Note Samba, Crystal And Lace, Jazz ‘N’ Samba (So Danco Samba), Brazil (Aquarela Do Brasil), Iluminados, Jet Samba (Samba Do Aviao), Wave, Black Orpheus (Manha De Carnaval), Dindi and O Polichinelo (Clown)
  • Musicians: Eliane Elias (piano, vocals), Eddie Gomez (bass), Jack DeJohnette (drums), Oscar Castro-Neves (guitar), Marc Johnson (bass), Peter Erskine (drums), Café (percussion), Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone), Paulo Braga (drums), Amanda Elias Brecker (vocals), Nana Vasconcelos (percussion), Dave Valentin (flutes), Satoshi Takeishi (drums), Portinho (shaker), Ivan Lins (vocals), Jim Beard (synthesizer) and Malcolm Pollack (vocals)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments