You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz - CD Reviews>Diary by Torcuato Mariano

Diary by Torcuato Mariano

Diary is the latest release by Argentinean-born, Brazilian-bred guitarist Torcuato Mariano. Mariano plays a blend of jazz and Brazilian music that he calls ‘Rio Chill’. Actually, it’s just your standard smooth jazz with a bit of a Latin tinge. This is not a bad thing, but I think it only fair to point out that neither is it some new, revolutionary style.

Musical ‘labels’ and marketing concepts come and go, but in the final analysis all that matters is the music, and this album is chock full of great, well-produced tunes. Mariano paints very detailed musical portraits on this album, and his palette is heavy with a multitude of colors. He personally contributes acoustic and electric guitar, sitar, keyboards, electronic drum programming, Mini Moog bass and vocals. In addition, he has Carlos Bala on drums, Serginho Carvalho, Andre Rodrigues and Marcelo Mariano on bass, Marcelo Martins on soprano sax and flute, Yura Ranewski on cello, Chiquinho Chagas on accordion, Glauton Campello and Paulinho Calasans on keyboards, Marcela Biasi and Paulinho Loureiro on vocals, Armando Marcal, Gonzales and Marcos Suzano on percussion and string arrangement help from Jota Moraes.

The music presented here is dense and busy, but without being overwhelming. It’s very melodic, and as the different sounds float in and out of the mix - a vocal sample here, a couple bars of accordion there - it takes you along with it. This is the kind of music you relax with, the kind of music that you can sink into without intellectualizing it too much. Also, the quality of musicianship is extremely high. Mariano has gathered some of the best musicians in Brazil for this project, and it pays off handsomely. In addition to being a great guitarist, Mariano also shows that he is a very talented writer and producer as well, having composed, arranged and produced the entire album.

If smooth jazz is your cup of tea, grab this CD and drink up. You should find it warm, fragrant and sweet - overall, a very satisfying experience.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Torcuato Mariano
  • CD Title: Diary
  • Genre: Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: 215 Records
  • Musicians: Torcuato Mariano & friends
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments