You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz - CD Reviews>Tempo Feliz by Paulinho Garcia

Tempo Feliz by Paulinho Garcia

It is always a special pleasure to listen to the music of Paulinho Garcia. Whether he is playing guitar or singing, or both, his outstanding, sensitive delivery style shines! In this CD collection, he provides hauntingly beautiful sounds which reflect the masterful style of his delivery. His jazz style is fluid and enchanting.

There are fifteen songs in the CD collection. Each song will appeal to different listeners for different reasons. Among the songs are found "Aos Pes Da Cruz," "If You Could See Me Now," "Tristeza," "Estate," "E Quando," "Berimbau," "Duas Horas Da Manha," "Brigas Nunca Mais," "Do You Remember Me?", "Desafinado," "Samba De Uma Nota So," "What'll I Do," "Upa Neguinho," "Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar," and "Tempo Feliz."

If you are new to Paulinho Garcia's music, and stylings, this is a fine introduction. His version of songwriter Irving Berlin's "What'll I Do" is perfectly suited to the great talent of Garcia and ranks among the finest recordings ever made of this old American Standard. Garcia gives this classic a new approach with a rendition which will linger in the jazz audience's memory for a long, long time. This song, and Garcia's original composition, "Do You Remember Me?" are prime and perfect examples of Garcia in performance. It is this reviewers hope that Garcia will always include these two songs in his performances in the future.

Paulinho Garcia is in topnotch form with this collection of fine songs. His sound, his style, his techniques -- are revealed fully in this excellent recording.

This CD collection is highly recommended for all those who love hearing sensitive, well-performed jazz. It would make an ideal gift for a friend and certainly deserves placement in your local public library for library jazz patrons. This is Paulinho Garcia at his finest. He is one of a special kind, a musician who is one with his song and reflects that deep oneness when he performs. Excellent collection of songs in all aspects!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Paulinho Garcia
  • CD Title: Tempo Feliz
  • Genre: Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Jazzmin Records
  • Musicians: Paulinho Garcia (guitar, vocals)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments