You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz - CD Reviews>Ucross Journal by Ernesto Diaz-Infante

Ucross Journal by Ernesto Diaz-Infante

Perhaps it is nostalgia on my part from having spent time in Wyoming during the early 1970s, but I could not help but be moved by the lyrical beauty of pianist Ernesto Diaz-Infante's solo piano performance on the CD, "Ucross Journal." This is a wonderful experience listening to his musical thoughts concerning his stay in Wyoming. These compositions and improvisations for solo piano are unique listening experiences, filled with imagery and musical metaphor! The CD is 25 pieces, each one written each day that the composer-pianist was in residence at the Ucross Foundation Ranch in Wyoming, plus the improvisations. Each day was a new composition which reflected the composer's impressions. Some of the titles of the compositions reflect Wyoming influences: "the big sky," "yellow fields, yellow hills," "the high plains landscapes," "Piney Creek," to mention but a few. It is divided into four weeks, these 25 compositions. Following them, is the section titled "Ucross Improvisations, I - 4," which are 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 in sequence. This is a sweet, mellow journey for the jazz listener who wishes to encounter something hauntingly beautiful in its simple yet highly complex arrangement. A CD with feeling, class, subtle passion, and integrity of melody. A brilliant work from a greatly gifted composer.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Ernesto Diaz-Infante
  • CD Title: Ucross Journal
  • Genre: Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz
  • Year Released: 1999
  • Record Label: Pax Recordings
  • Musicians: Ernesto Diaz-Infante (piano)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments