You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Quiet Strength by Russel Blake

Quiet Strength by Russel Blake

Russel Blake is a fine jazz performer. He has a feel for jazz tempo, and he has that keen skill for interweaving various jazz motifs into bright, memorable performances. He knows his instrument and is friends with it, sharing his visions with the jazz listening audience.

There are eight songs in the CD collection. The songs include "Just Cruisin,'" "Mi Corazon Esta Contigo," (part 1, 2:31 minutes), "Mi Corazon Esta Contigo," (part 2, 7:44 minutes), "God's Peace," "Juicy," "Quiet Strength," "Skylark," and "Girl Talk."

Each song highlights the talents of Russel Blake. He gives to each performance a nice polish and melodic interpretation.

Russel Blake excels as a composer, too, as heard in his "Mi Corazon Esta Contigo," parts 1 and 2. The Hoagy Carmichael standard, "Skylark," is given a superb rendition, and the listener will find something new on each listening. Blake is a master of the Four string electric bass and acoustic basses.

Russel Blake is a young artist, and this CD reflects his developing style as a performer, and also, as a composer with a sense of melody. Listen to how he handles his personal rendition of Neal Hefti's lively "Girl Talk."

Good listening! Enjoyable! Russel Blake is rising talent. Give this young artist a listen! Quiet Strength is worth your time!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Russel Blake
  • CD Title: Quiet Strength
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Musicians: Russel Blake (four string bass, accoustic bass)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments