You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Together On A Summer Afternoon by Bob McHugh

Together On A Summer Afternoon by Bob McHugh

Bob McHugh continues to exhibit jazz piano stylings that place him in the front line of excellent contemporary jazz pianists. His original compositions, such as "Amanda," reveal his jazz roots and keen composing skills.

Together with McHugh are three of the finest jazz musicians currently performing, and each has his own special talent to share with the jazz listening audience. Ron Naspo performs on bass in his own unique manner, David Humm sails through some complex, interesting drum work, and Tony Signa excells on his tenor saxophone and flute.

There are nine memorable songs on this CD collection. Among them are the lively "The Wiggler" composed by Bob McHugh, the Kern/Mercer classic "Dearly Beloved," Alex North's "Love Theme form Spartacus," the wonderful Duke Ellington song "It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing," Charlie Parker's "Scrapple From The Apple," the uniquely original composition "Amanda" composed by Bob McHugh, an interesting performance of the old English tune "Greensleeves," John Lewis' "Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West," and the Vernon Duke classic "Taking A Chance On Love." These songs make for a highly enjoyable listening experience, one to savor often and in the company of friends!

This is definitely a fine jazz CD to have in your home collection, to share as a gift with a friend, and to place in your local library for jazz listening patrons. There is something memorable for every listener in this fine collection of jazz music.

Highly recommended. Highly enjoyable.

Bob McHugh is in top form with his piano stylings, and his companions are, too. Fine, nice and easy, something to come back to often!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Bob McHugh
  • CD Title: Together On A Summer Afternoon
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: Lunge Music
  • Musicians: Bob McHugh (piano, leader, composer), Ron Naspo (bass), David Humm (drums), Tony Signa (tenor saxophone and flute).
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments