You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Cool Jazz - CD Reviews>Some Quiet Place by Andy Snitzer

Some Quiet Place by Andy Snitzer

Philadelphia born saxophonist Andy Snitzer returns to his 1999 release title Some Quiet Place, this time adding a new track and a different album cover.

Reissued on Native Language records, Some Quiet Place tacks on the new song "Passion Play." Just like the 1999 release, this new song features the same players as the previous ones with Chuck Loeb on guitar.

This song has great interplay with Loeb and Snitzer and is a welcome addition. Anyone who did not get the first release should note that trumpeter Chris Botti makes an appearance on the song "On Extended Wing." Botti plays some beautiful lines and drummer Shawn Pelton plays magnificently.

This album may have been overlooked its first time out. With the inclusion of the new song and with a name like Botti attached to it, people should seek Andy Snitzer and this album out.

Labeled as chill music, it is not really chill music; it is relaxing but may not fall into the chill category. Andy Snitzer is known for his touring work with The Rolling Stones, Eric Clapton and is on tour with Paul Simon.

Andy Snitzer has a pure sound. From opening song "As I Was Before" to "Passion Play" on through to Testimony, Snitzer has surrounded himself with great musicians like Loeb and Jon Ossman on bass and Mitch Coodley on acoustic guitars and Pelton on drums.

Classified as chill but more relaxing coming close to smooth, Some Quiet Place is a great album. Andy Snitzer has a great career ahead of him.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Andy Snitzer
  • CD Title: Some Quiet Place
  • Genre: Cool Jazz
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Reissue Original Release: 1999
  • Record Label: Native Language
  • Tracks: As I Was Before, Only With You, A Few Wild Nights, Passion Play, Loving You, Boundless, Some Quiet Place, On Extended Wing, Losing Summer, For Joel, Testimony.
  • Musicians: Andy Snitzer (sax, keyboards), Bob James (acoustic piano), Phillippe Saisse (Rhodes, clavinet, shaker), Paul Livant (guitars), Jon Ossman (bass), Shawn Pelton (drums), David Charles (percussion), Chuck Loeb (guitar), Mitch Coodley (guitars), Tony Kadleck (trumpet), Birch Johnson (trombone), Bernard Davis (drums), Davie Lebolt (organ), Fab (synth), Jerry Brooks (bass), Brian Dunne (drums), Jim Hynes (flugelhorn), Michael Davis (trombone), Larry Salzman (guitar), Chris Botti (trumpet).
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments