You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Electronica - CD Reviews>Extempore by Nashio & Argel Kobol

Extempore by Nashio & Argel Kobol

Kobol’s 2005 debut drew comparisons with the likes of Skalpel and Jaga Jazzist thanks to its fusion of jazz and electronica music. This Mexican-born but LA-based duo now return with the follow-up ‘Extempore’ and although it’s half-based on remixes, it shows the strength in Kobol’s development, moving from above-average background music to song-based structures and multi-layered instrumentals.
On the remixes, ‘Pepito’ by The Dogs features some cracking percussion and warm atmospherics, Murcof’s ‘Urano’ led me to believe that it was going to build into the theme of ‘The Third Man’ at any time whilst a reworking of Kampion’s ‘Dreamy Snapshot’ uncovers several levels of menace. Pleasingly it’s the new tracks which are even more impressive. ‘Submarino’ is fluid, rhythmic and Latin-inflected rather like Mice Parade, ‘Blue Like You’, assisted by the heart-wrenching vocals of Emma Ejwertz, is dreamily atmospheric and the finale ‘Tanque’ has enough key changes and swing to keep the most challenging of modern jazz fans interested. No doubt about it, ‘Extempore’ is a major step forward for Kobol as both producers and songwriters.
by Leonard
Further Listening:Mice Parade, Skalpel, Jaga Jazzist

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Nashio & Argel Kobol
  • CD Title: Extempore
  • Genre: Electronica
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Reissue Original Release: 2007
  • Record Label:
  • Tracks: Straw Man, Submarino, The Dogs, , Valenciana (feat. Ximena Sariñana), ,Urano (Kobol Remix), Blue Like You (Feat. Emma Ejwertz), ,Paragón, Dreamy Snapshot (Kobol Remix), , 5PM (Feat. Jazz De Mar), , Tanque
  • Musicians: Nashio (Guitar & Programming) Arhkota (Drums)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments