You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Slow by Juozas Milasius

Slow by Juozas Milasius

Lithuanian guitarist, Juozas Milasius, presents a contemplative set of minimalist solo pieces, characterized by a subdued dose of reverb-laden twang reminiscent of Marc Ribot and Bill Frisell. The bulk of the disc's nine tracks live up to its descriptively simple title, Slow. The opening tracks, "So Light" and "Scalpel Sad," along with the static filled "It's Rare Air Here" move along at a snails pace, with a seemingly endless barrage of tonal arpeggios, chord clusters and single note motifs.

"The Rowels of Spurs" sounds like the soundtrack to a John Carpenter horror film with a tension-filled cowboy swagger of a bass line and upper-register drones. Continuous volume fluctuations create an illusion of uneasiness in the otherwise plaintive "Seasickness." Milasius is at his most interesting on "Pawnshop Accountant" and "Kino," two tracks with multi-tracking and unconventional layers of effects. The latter utilizing a blues form with unusual synthetic sounding lines. The influence of the blues can also be heard on "Spray Drift," a frenetic improvised piece with string bends and punchy low notes.

All-in-all, Slow is a meditative work, full of inventive, sonic landscapes. Milasius' approach is uncompromising and unconventional; a perspective both unique and intriguing. As a bonus, one can stream the entire disc with video enhancement on the artists website.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Juozas Milasius
  • CD Title: Slow
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Nemu Records
  • Musicians: Juozas Milasius (guitar)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments