You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>The Drop And The Ocean by The Rob Garcia 4

The Drop And The Ocean by The Rob Garcia 4

Having played with such jazz heavyweights as Joe Lovano, Diana Krall and Scott Colley, Garcia's 4tet which includes some of the finest talent in the Big Apple today sets sail on an improvisational feast celebrating the musical version of the whole being greater than the sum of its parts.

The rhythmic punctuations of "Will" opens a release that allows the individual members of this ensemble to embrace their musical free will, playing for the moment while acting on the musical challenges fellow band members place before them. Rising star Dan Tepfer does a musical exploratory on "Boundaries" creating a unique dynamic tension of sound with another rising star in saxophonist Noah Preminger. Artistically gifted and technically brilliant bassist John Hebert anchors the rhythm section allowing the 4tet ample room to stretch out as needed. Garcia gives three Max Roach infused drum improvisations that are designed to reflect just how short and occasionally unexpected our time on this planet may be. "Humility" is a beautiful and introspective ballad on the uncertainty of parenthood, wistful melancholy that is endearing as it is personal for Garcia.

The follow up to the critically acclaimed "Perennial" is the perfect launching pad for a 4tet that will be a force to be reckoned with in the years to come. Garcia sets the ensemble up for immediate success by achieving the true working band feel instead of four different musical paths attempting to achieve the same goal. Four shining stars destined for even wider recognition.

A musical journey of self exploration with an all star lineup that showcases Garcia's enumerable talents on this most compelling of releases. Creativity that is off the chart!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Rob Garcia 4
  • CD Title: The Drop And The Ocean
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2011
  • Record Label: Brooklyn Jazz Underground
  • Tracks: Will; Boundaries; Flash #1; Lost By Morning; The Drop Part 2; River; Flash #2; Humility; Crash; String And Poise; The Return; Flash #3.
  • Musicians: Noah Preminger: tenor saxophone; Dan Tepfer: piano; John Hebert: bass; Rob Garcia: drums.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments