You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Desire by Tierney Sutton Band

Desire by Tierney Sutton Band

Desire is a remarkable collection of jazz vocals as only the gifted Tierney Sutton can sing them, and her band is topnotch. With a collection of eleven songs, this will be a must-have CD for fans of Tierney Sutton.

The eleven songs are showcase pieces for the vocalist and her band. Among the fine gems found are such songs as "It's Only A Paper Moon," "My Heart Belongs To Daddy," "Long Daddy Green," "Fever," "It's All Right With Me," "Then I'll Be Tired of You," "Cry Me A River," "Love Me Or Leave Me," "Heart's Desire," "Whatever Lola Wants," and "Skylark."

Tierney Sutton has a fine voice, and its range fits well into a jazz vocal format. Her voice is full of emotion, and that emotion reaches out to a jazz listening audience quickly. If you are new to the sounds of Tierney Sutton, then Desire is certainly a great way to discover her unique singing style!

Christian Jacob remains one of the finest jazz pianists currently on the contemporary jazz scene, and his performances are always masterful, full of stylish innovations, and a sense of awe that translates into a feeling of shared joy with the audience. Lisen to his solo work throughout the collection, and listen to how well he casts a creative touch to each and every song.

With the wonderfully complex stylings of Trey Henry and Kevin Axt on bass, each one gives a straight-ahead intimate approach to their individual performances. Ray Brinker is the absolute best drummer one could hope for, and he, too, shines with his complex way in this outstanding collection. Listen to him on "Fever" and catch his drum fever!

Highly recommended. Buy a copy for yourself and for a friend. Ask your local public library to order a copy for its jazz listening patrons.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Tierney Sutton Band
  • CD Title: Desire
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Telarc
  • Musicians: Tierney Sutton (vocals), Christian Jacob (piano), Trey Henry (bass), Kevin Axt (bass), and Ray Brinker (drums).
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments