You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>I'm In Heaven Tonight by Sara DeLeo

I'm In Heaven Tonight by Sara DeLeo

Sara DeLeo has a certain charm about her voice that comes across in a lucid, clear, intense manner. She is sure to connect with a wide jazz listening audience with her relaxed style.

The CD collection has some nice material, and each song will find its listener immediately. The songs include "Rockin' Robin," "I Feel Pretty," "I'm In Heaven Tonight," "No Moon At All," "On The Street Where You Live," "Stolen Moments," "Let It Rain," "In The Cold, Cold night," "Sometimes I'm Happy," and "You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me."

I was impressed with her singing on "No Moon At All" and "Sometimes I'm Happy." All of her singing, in fact. I came back to hear these two three times and feel they are perfect for this gifted singer's interpretations.

The musicians on this CD collection are topnotch in the fullest sense of the word, and all performances are perfect and highlight the jazz motifs in each and every song. This is a nice CD, one you will come back to, and enjoy often. Chris Bergson excells on guitar as does Mark Bordenet on percussion. Jay Collins creates some fine harmonic themes with his saxophone and flute inventions. Brian Charette is one best organists around, and his sound is subtle. Each musician is excellent. Fabio Morgera gets in some fine phrasing with his trumpet and David Cook is smooth with his unque piano stylings.

Excellent. One you will enjoy often!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Sara DeLeo
  • CD Title: I'm In Heaven Tonight
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: Sweet Sassy Music
  • Musicians: Sara DeLeo (vocals), Chris Bergson (guitar), Mark Bordenet (percussion), Brian Charette (organ), Jay Collins (saxophone and flute), David Cook (piano), Fabio Morgera (trumpet), Gary Wang (bass).
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments