You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Star and Season by Karen Johns & Company

Star and Season by Karen Johns & Company

The Star of any Season

Karen Johns & Company - Star and Season

Similar to the variation in New England seasons, Karen Johns is equal in the moods that swing from her new, self-released CD, Star and Season. Partnered in life and song with husband James, Ms. Johns and Company has spun a collection of meticulous jazz confections, which delve into a much deserving catalogue of music sheets.

Ms. Johns performance portrays numerous dimensions, which are felt on this disc. She captures the lounge seductress within a smoke-filled room with the cut "Night and Day," and then is off in an elegant show tune-esque sway with "China Town," both alluring with a unique stage appeal.

I take pleasure in the attitudes of her eclectic voice, a dynamic real time experiment in performance. The lady has authoritative range with her vocals.... Ms. Johns' execution of arrangements can be compared to notes vying for her affection, with the result actually being, the affection becoming ours.

The spice of the disc bulks up a bold behavior, with the horn-heavy spin "Carry Me Away," a cool yet brazen Ms. Johns is unleashed for an uplifting feel of loveliness... Note a bit of her scat side flexing its muscles!

Star and Season is a compelling disc, one that makes the audience brace themselves. You are drawn to its romantic pitch and pulse, yet the task of defining the artist is indefinably original. The line-up on stage with her, along with guitarist-husband James, in most cases matches her talent precisely. Star and Season has that "chart presence" promise.

One thing I can assure you of, the star for any season is present on every spin!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Karen Johns & Company
  • CD Title: Star and Season
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: Self-published
  • Tracks: Carry Me Away , Night and Day , Stars Fell On Alabama , While the Moon , Desafinado (Slightly Out of Tune) , If , Company Blues , Southland Summer , Autumn Leaves , Angels In the Snow , China Town
  • Musicians: Karen Johns- vocals,Kevin Sanders- piano-keys,James Johns- guitars- duet vocals on Angels In the Snow, Brook Sutton- bass,Bart Elliott- drums-percussion,Jim Hoke- saxophones-clarinet,Mark Horwitz- flute-trombone,Ben Graves- mandolin
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments