You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Take Me Home by Laura Hull

Take Me Home by Laura Hull

Vocalist Laura Hull’s new CD, Take Me Home, gets its title from the Tom Waits composition that closes the collection.

The song is one of the high points of the 10-track album. Using her clear voice, crisp delivery, and understated style, Hull delivers a warm and compelling version of the ballad. The song lingers after the last note is played. It’s a perfect ending to the album.

While her 2004 release, Hullabaloo, featured original music, Take Me Home focuses on jazz standards. In the liner notes, Hull explains that the CD comes out of her desire to record the music that she loves to perform - songs of love and relationships.

The heart of the CD rests in its middle when Hull offers her renditions of three standards, "Day by Day," "But Beautiful," and "Lullaby of the Leaves."

Instead of trying to overhaul the classics, she wisely chooses to find the nuances in the songs. She gently draws the meaning out of each song. Hull arranged and produced the CD with Pat Firth, who plays piano on the album.

A native of New York City, Hull began singing at a young age. Through her formative years, she learned to sing a variety of styles and genres in upstate New York’s Catskill Mountains. She also worked as a session and jingle singer and sang in clubs in and around New York City. Hull then stepped away from singing for 24 years to pursue a business career, returning to live performance in 2004.

All these steps have led her to this point and Take Me Home.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Laura Hull
  • CD Title: Take Me Home
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Hullarious Productions
  • Tracks: How Little We Know, I’ve Never Been in Love Before, Day by Day, But Beautiful, Lullaby of the Leaves, Call Me, Foolin’ Myself, I Keep Goin’ Back to Joe’s, How Little We Know, Take Me Home
  • Musicians: Laura Hull (vocals), Pat Firth (piano), Jon Burr (bass), Tony Jefferson (drums), and Gary Oleyar (violin)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments