You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>Resurrection by Panchito

Resurrection by Panchito

The Netherlands is definitely a nest of new things. The Dutch have a creative ability in the jazz scene, bringing about their fine music. Despite the band’s name, Panchito is formed by young Dutch and German talents.

Panchito’s release Resurrection is a solid, pulsating creation of Latin jazz and funk rhythms, always vividly exploring and being strung together with impeccable musicianship; wholly cooking with a knack of humour and an endeavored energy.

Panchito features André van Berlo’s compositions assembled on ten delightful tracks arranged from "First Flight" to "Hasta Siempre." The whole album is a fully-concatenation that carries impulse throughout the spaces. For instance, a funky execution of "First Flight" is trailed by the up-tempo "Morena".

The nonet swings along with some Colon, Arroyo, Ventura, De Rivera and Puente touches. The rhythm section is definitely solid. Remarkable are the soaring solos by altoist Kwint van Dijck, trumpeter Rick Mol and trombonist Louk Boudesteijn.

Van Berlo brings forth an abundant aptitude and ardency into the tracks to make them sound airy. "Hasta Siempre" showcases a nice up-pace handling and "Sahita" is a bluesy-bolero riff from beginning to end. Van Berlo computes a bit of samba, alluding to a "Struggle for life", making it one of the album’s highlights.

Latin-American rhythms are injected with fire and passion as well as with an amazing competence. Although rooted in a traditional Latin jazz language, Panchito conveys an astonishing alchemy and in the process carries its own voice in an innovative and surprising way. A wonderful debut!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Panchito
  • CD Title: Resurrection
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: World Fusion Music
  • Tracks: First Fight, Lies, Templo Isis, Sahita, Minha Magia, Struggle For Life, Morena, Resurrección, Name of a Rose, Hasta Siempre
  • Musicians: André van Berlo (guitar), Rik Mol (trumpet, flugelhorn), Kwint van Dijck (alto saxophone), Louk Boudesteijn (trombone), Matthias Haffner (timbales, percussion), Rein Godefroy (piano, synthesizer), Jeroen Vierdag (bass & stand-up bass), Stefan Brodte (conga, percussion), Joost Kroon (drums)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments