You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Smooth Jazz - CD Reviews>Group Theory by Hard Logic

Group Theory by Hard Logic

This funk and jam jazz fusion band, headed by saxophonist/composer Paul DeLoria, is influenced by bands such as The Rippingtons, John Scofield, Soulive and The Brecker Brothers. Band members are Tony Castronova on electric and acoustic guitars, Dave Pinto on bass, Greg Gilmore on keyboards, Bob Accurso on vibes and percussion, Chris Dembeyiotis on drums and DeLoria on saxophones and electronic wind instrument. The group plays material spanning Latin, funk, and Celtic musical styles and is best described as funky, smooth jazz.

Paul DeLoria has played with contemporary artists such as Walt Scott (keyboardist with Tanya Tucker, Mindy McReady, and Ricky VanShelton), Nioshi Jackson, Reggie and Joseph Wooten, members of Take Six, Jack Pearson, JD Blair, Keith Horne and recording artists Big Mike and the Bootie Pappas, and has appeared on a number of Gospel, Blues and Jazz recordings. Other members of the band have appeared with REO Speedwagon, Marshall Tucker, Meatloaf, and Phoebe Snow to name a few.

Group Theory is the follow up to their debut recording Anytime, Anywhere, released in 2006. The group’s growth is clearly evident and their playing style takes on a more energetic, hard-driving sound. Tracks of special note are "Redemption," "Shrivelspork," "Grindage" and "Attack of the Weiner Dogs." A great compilation of well-composed and executed music by a band that evidently has the chops and cohesion to make a mark in the world of contemporary jazz.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Hard Logic
  • CD Title: Group Theory
  • Genre: Smooth Jazz
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Record Label: Mama Llama Productions
  • Tracks: Crudities, Redemption, Shrivelspork, LowTide, All Points South, Tastebuds, Grindage, Way Back North, No End In Sight, Drainfunk, Living Wall, Attack of the Weiner Dogs.
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments