You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Soul / Funk Jazz - CD Reviews>Just A Little Sly by Thornwood

Just A Little Sly by Thornwood

Thornwood hails from Rochester New York, but don’t let the name of the city throw you off, this band has a major sound on their new EP Just A Little Sly.

Guitar player Marcus Robinson spearheads this very talented assembly with chops to die for, while the funky and smooth grooves of the brass help the music to reach levels of maturity that is reserved for experts in their craft. This band has it all going for them. With a rock-solid rhythm and soul that prevails throughout the recording, even legends like Isaac Hayes would crack a smile. The vocal department is in fine shape as well, Gregory G-Rob Robinson has an excellent command of his talents-watch out Luther Vandross.

This five song EP kicks off with a tasty instrumental titled "Swingin Fo Da Fence," a real funky jazz workout that borders on fusion. Then there is the Sly Stone classic "Family Affair," modernized for city living in 2004. It seems so fresh and applicable today. You would swear it was just yesterday that the words and music came together for this session. For those of you to young to remember, "Family Affair" was recorded nearly 30 years ago. Speaking of today, "Babies Making Babies" is a sad but true reality in this world, the words hit home and the music is outstanding. Tony Newton cuts loose on the track.... think of players like Stanley Clark or Marcus Miller who step forward and play the performance of a lifetime on a regular basis. Newton really kicks out the jams.
Five songs were not enough for me I had to listen again and again to get my funk fix. I really enjoyed this music and hope to hear more from this band very soon, hopefully a full length album next time.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Thornwood
  • CD Title: Just A Little Sly
  • Genre: Soul / Funk Jazz
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Tracks: Swingin Fo Da Fence If You Want Me To Stay Our Time Together Family Affair Babies Making Babies
  • Musicians: Herb Smith (trumpet, flugel horn), Marcus Robinson (guitars), Tony Newton (bass), Greg G-Rob Robinson (vocals), Kevin Brooks (drums), Josh Solarsky (keyboards), Gustavp Lizarraga (saxophones), Charlie Shew (percussion), Ryan Yanel (trombone);
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments