You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>At This Time by Norman David and The Eleventet

At This Time by Norman David and The Eleventet

Dr. Norman David gathers a world-class ensemble, here on this winning studio session. An arranger, composer and educator residing in the Philadelphia area, David also struts his impressive soprano saxophone faculties amid his hearty dialogues with saxophonist George Garzone, trumpeter Tim Hagans and others. Seasoned with memorable hooks and articulate thematic-engineering outbreaks, one of many highpoints is the robust piece, "Tuesday Overture."

The ensemble substantiates the composition's moniker in dramatic fashion, where anticipations of an explosive plot flourish from the onset. Following the commanding arrangement and parlaying the emotive aspects, tenor saxophonist George Garzone launches a herculean solo, followed by swerving detours and David's sinewy choruses.

Hagans continues the soloing trail via the hornists' sinister undercurrent as a convergence takes place, signifying a pathway towards the finale. David and associates excel at building tension, and restate the overture at the end, beckoning a storyline proposition that asks if it is the end or the beginning? Sure, the cinematic inferences parlay this feisty large ensemble arrangement, but it's an all-telling characteristic of the leader's musicality. This session is not designed with an autocratic, music by numbers approach due to the great sensitivity and emotive aspects sprinkled throughout. Hence, it's an album that should stand tall amid the hordes of less spectacular endeavors.


Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Norman David and The Eleventet
  • CD Title: At This Time
  • Featured Track: Tuesday Overture
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2011
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Musicians: Norman David (soprano saxophone), Dick Oatts (alto & soprano saxophones), George Garzone (tenor saxophone), Mark Allen (baritone & tenor saxophones), Dennis Wasko (trumpet), Tim Hagans (trumpet), Randy Kapralick (trombone), Jarred Antonacci (trombone), Tom Lawton (piano), John Hebert (bass), Dan Monaghan (drums)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments