You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Straight-Ahead - CD Reviews>No One New by Joshua Breakstone Trio

No One New by Joshua Breakstone Trio

The members of the Joshua Breakstone Trio are three musicians with lots of experience in the jazz scene. Bassist Lisle Atkinson has worked with Nina Simone, Betty Carter, Stanley Turrentine, Benny Carter and Kenny Burrell. Drummer Eliot Zigmund has worked with Bill Evans, Stan Getz, Benny Golson, Toots Thielsman and Jim Hall. The leader of the trio, Joshua Breakstone, has worked with Tommy Flanagan, Kenny Barron and Kenny Washington, besides his nineteen solo recordings.

Joshua is a master improviser with a nice tone and inventive phrasing. His first influences were Clifford Brown and Charlie Parker, and one may hear a bebop influence in his improvisations, especially in the first track, "Over-Done." His guitar solos and improvisations sound like those of a horn player with a sense of humor. "Over Done" ends with a melodic bass solo followed by a wonderful exchange on guitar and drums before going back to the main theme.

"For Me" features the bass and drums with a nice swinging groove against the bright tone and happy melodies of Joshua on guitar. "The Unknown One" is a beautiful ballad with a lovely Latin, almost Bossa feeling. Joshua's melodies creates a placid, relaxing mood.

"Come on Baby" is an up beat piece that brings a festive, swinging feeling to the CD with a superb bass solo by Atkinson.

With a brilliant use of chord harmonization, and improvisation that always reach the right notes, "Blues Heretofore" grows slowly in intensity with yet another excellent work on bass and drums.

"No One New" is another swinging track with all three musicians keeping the energy throughout the tune. "The Peacocks" is a beautiful blues written by Jimmy Rowles, brilliantly played with expressive, heartfelt solos on guitar. Again, a subtle, perfect support on bass and drums by Lisle Atkinson and Eliot Zigmund.

The CD ends with a nice interpretation of Joe Henderson's composition "The Kicker."

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Joshua Breakstone Trio
  • CD Title: No One New
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Capri Records
  • Tracks: Over-Done, For Me, The Unkown One, Come on Baby, Blues Heretofore, No One New, The Peacocks, The Kicker
  • Musicians: Joshua Breakstone (guitar), Lisle Atkinson (bass), Eliot Zigmund (drums)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments