You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Traditional / New Orleans - CD Reviews>I Remember You by Dan Kozar

I Remember You by Dan Kozar

Dan Kozar’s "I Remember You" is a pleasant way to spend an evening. His finger-style guitar playing is functional without any frills. The album features a whole laundry list of well-known, well-worn pieces such as Hart & Rodgers’ ‘Blue Moon’ and ‘My Funny Valentine’, Mercer’s ‘Autumn Leaves’, Mancini’s ‘The Days of Wine and Roses’ along with ‘The Girl from Ipanema’, ‘Summertime’ and others.

The liner notes state that "Dan is enjoying playing.... solo guitar performing at fine dining establishments, concerts, wedding receptions, banquets and private parties." This is a fair assessment of what to expect when contemplating purchasing this compact disc.

As mentioned, the music itself is without many frills. The pieces are faithful, conservative interpretations and they are, by and large, starker (because of the solo guitar) versions of what you may already be familiar with. This is not Jimi Hendrix playing the ‘Star Spangled Banner.’ Or even Bill Frisell who provides alternative moodscapes with a sense of irony and wonder.

Kozar’s wife is quoted: "His playing fills your mind and gets you into just the right space, and the right mood effortlessly." She’s probably right. If the mood you want to create is something simple and relaxing, then Kozar may be the guy for you. However, if you expect a musician to challenge you in hearing something that you thought was familiar and turn it on its head to give you that new and unusual perspective, then you might want to take a pass on Kozar.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Dan Kozar
  • CD Title: I Remember You
  • Genre: Traditional / New Orleans
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: RBA Records
  • Tracks: All The Things You Are, Blue Moon, I Remember You, Autumn Leaves, My Funny Valentine, All of Me, The Girl From Ipanema, Stella By Starlight, Deed I Do, Summertime, The Days of Wine and Roses
  • Musicians: Dan Kozar - Nylon String Guitar
  • Rating: Two Stars
Login to post comments