You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Traditional / New Orleans - CD Reviews>I've Found a New Baby by Wilbur DeParis

I've Found a New Baby by Wilbur DeParis

The many fans of the late DeParis brothers will be pleased to find this reissue disk on the shelves of their favorite record shop. A quick glance at the musicians listed above will give the listener confidence in a well-planned compilation. Jazz Crusade buyers have come to expect both quality and quantity from the label. This disk holds nineteen tracks and occupies seventy-one happy minutes.

The sessions are from three DeParis bands during the period of 1944 to 1953. Some tracks are from air shots and others from studio sessions. This writer doesn’t pretend to distinguish which is which! Suffice it to say that the music is wonderful, happy and very, very hot.

The first band wails through eight tracks which represent two takes each of four songs. Edmond Hall is always great and this stuff is no exception. The second group swings their merry way through four wildly swinging tracks. The powerful DeParis boys are joined by the equally powerful Sidney Bechet, Honeybear Sedric and a rhythm section featuring Cliff Jackson, Wellman Braud, Everett Barksdale and Eddie Dougherty. Dougherty is the Brooklyn born drummer who worked on the great Harry James boogie sides with Albert Ammons and Pete Johnson. Band number three features the great New Orleans clarinetist, Omer Simeon, pianist Don Kirkpatrick and Zutty Singleton on drums. Banjoist Eddie Gibbs performs the mandatory The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise.

The DeParis brothers are in great shape on these recordings and Sidney is especially hot. It’s good music.

Check out the Jazz Crusade website for sound samples. Purists and incurable collectors will want to consider the Complete Wilbur DeParis Atlantic Records collection offered by Jazz Crusade’s online shop. The special order set includes all 12 DeParis albums for Atlantic packaged on nine compact disks.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Wilbur DeParis
  • CD Title: I've Found a New Baby
  • Genre: Traditional / New Orleans
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Reissue Original Release: 1944-1953
  • Record Label: Jazz Crusade
  • Tracks: The Sheik Of Araby (2 takes); I’ve Found a New Baby (2 takes); Black & Blue (2 takes); Change Of Key Boogie (2 takes); Jeepers Creepers; Quiet Please; Cliff’s Boogie Blues; You’ve Got Me Walkin’ And Talkin’ To Myself; Bourbon Street Parade; Frankie & Johnny; In a Persian Market; The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise; Change Of Key Boogie; Waiting For The Robert E.Lee; I’ve Found a New Baby.
  • Musicians: Band 1: Wilbur DeParis (trombone); Sidney DeParis (trumpet); Clyde Hart (piano); Edmond Hall (clarinet); Billy Taylor (bass); Specs Powell (drums). Band 2: Wilbur DeParis (trombone); Sidney DeParis (trumpet); Sidney Bechet (reeds); Gene Sedric (reeds); Cliff Jackson (piano); Everett Barksdale (guitar); Wellman Braud (bass); Eddie Dougherty (drums). Band 3: Wilbur DeParis (trombone); Sidney DeParis (trumpet); Omer Simeon (clarinet); Don Kirkpatrick (piano); Eddie Gibbs (banjo); Nat Woodley (bass); Zutty Singleton (drums).
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments