You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Various Jazz Styles - CD Reviews>Morpho by Gunhild Seim & Time Jungle

Morpho by Gunhild Seim & Time Jungle

A morpho is a brightly colored butterfly found in tropical forests-an apt name for this CD by Gunhild Seim & Time Jungle. In fact,like a butterfly, this music has a free floating quality while painting vivid pictures. At times either meditative, happy, questing or distressed, they are aural slashes of color, seen in modern art. And, as does good art, the music makes the listener think.

From Norway, Seim, on trumpet, works here with Arild Hoem, saxophone, Dag Magnus Narvesen, drums, John Lilja, bass, and Odd Børge Sagland, playing marimba and percussion on half the tracks. Her arrangements give everyone the opportunity to stretch out.

Per the liner notes, Seim cautions that this is not free jazz but is carefully composed, stressing group play. In this chamber jazz format, members converse with each other. A comparison can be made to Jimmy Giuffre’s Tangents in Jazz from the fifties and to its untethered style.

Also, in the CD, instruments are like people thinking and talking, sometimes calmly, other times agitated. The first track, "Palindrom" begins with Seim’s searching trumpet which is then led by Hoem on alto. Soon, slowly and sedately, bass and drums come to the fore. In "Grigue," Hoem’s shrieking alto seems to cry out in angst. By the end, order is restored by a martial cadence.

With "Motion Sickness," the music has a disorienting effect. The players carry on a discordant discourse, resolving the issue and finishing with a confident gait. The whole CD, matter of fact, should perk up both listeners’ interest and challenge their intellect.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Gunhild Seim & Time Jungle
  • CD Title: Morpho
  • Genre: Various Jazz Styles
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Mudi
  • Tracks: Palindrom, Blue Morpho, Gigue, On my doorstep, Summer in Winter, Frown, Motion Sickness, Just a hunch, Captain Cook, Tunnel Mountain Drive
  • Musicians: Gunhild Seim (piano), Arild Hoem (saxophone), Dag Magnus Narvesen (drums), John Lilja (bass), Odd Børge Sagland (marimba and percussion)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments