National Smooth Jazz Awards Update

For the first time in the three year history of the National Smooth Jazz Awards, there will be a co-host for the ceremony that will be held Saturday night, March 2nd. Vocalist Brenda Russell will join saxophonist Dave Koz to host the event that will be held at the Golden Hall Theatre in downtown San Diego. Russell has been no stranger working with Koz because they have been touring the country for the last five years at Christmas time to present Dave Koz and Friends: A Smooth Jazz Christmas throughout the country. The ceremony will be recorded for BET and BET on Jazz cable TV networks, which will be the second time that BET has worked with Russell. Russell was featured around two years ago on BET's Jazz Central in a live performance.

Also, more award presenters have been named for the event. Keyboardists David Benoit and George Duke, saxophonist Paul Taylor and vocalist Bobby Caldwell have been announced as award presenters for the ceremony. Additional presenters and more performers will be announced later this week. Already scheduled for the event are vocalists Al Jarreau and Gabriela Anders, trumpeter Rick Braun, keyboardist Keiko Matsui, guitarists Peter White and Craig Chaquico, saxophonist Kirk Whalum, the group Fattburger and bassist Wayman Tisdale.

For tickets, contact Ticketmaster online at, stop at you local Ticketmaster outlet or phone your local Ticketmaster office. Stay with for full coverage of the National Smooth Jazz Awards with Norm Breest.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Unknown
  • Event Date: 3/2/2002
  • Subtitle: Co-host And Additional Presenters Announced
Login to post comments