You are here:Home>Jazz Spotlights>KC Potpourri by Mike Metheny

KC Potpourri by Mike Metheny

Trumpet/flugelhorn soloist Mike Metheny is a native of Lees Summit Missouri and has degrees from the University of Missouri/Columbia (B.S. in Music Education) and Northeast Missouri State University (Masters in Music Education). His teachers included Keith House and John Alexander.

From 1971 to 1974 he was a trumpeter in the U.S. Army Field Band in Washington D.C. and in 1976 he became a faculty member at Boston's Berklee College of Music a position he held for six years. At Berklee Mike taught private trumpet music theory and jazz improvisation and while in Boston from 1976 to 1989 led his own Boston-based jazz quartet appearing in numerous club in addition to appearing on numerous jazz recordings as a sideman has recorded seven solo albums: Blue Jay Sessions (1982 Headfirst Records) Day In -- Night Out (1986 MCA/Impulse) featuring Mike's brother Pat Metheny Kaleidoscope (1988 MCA/Impulse) From Then 'til Now (1992 Altenburgh Records) Street of Dreams (1996 also on the Altenburgh label) Close Enough For Love (2001 on Mike's 3 Valve Music label) and KC Potpourri (2003 3 Valve Music).

Since 1983 Mike has been one of the few trumpeters to regularly perform on the EVI (Electronic Valve Instrument) a trumpet synthesizer with many dimensions and musical possibilities. Originally developed by Nyle Steiner the EVI has an eight octave range is MIDI capable and as Mike says "can double as a bug sprayer."

Today Mike is a freelance performer educator and music journalist in the Kansas City area. He is also the former editor of Kansas City's Jazz Ambassador Magazine (JAM) a position he held from 1994 to 2003.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Mike Metheny
  • CD Title: KC Potpourri
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Genre: Straight-Ahead / Classic
  • Record Label: 3 Valve Music
  • Artist's Instrument: Flugelhorn
  • Tracks: The Flintstones Theme, Always and Forever, Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West, Tell Me Know, How Insensitive, Are You Real?, Darn That Dream, Hey Man and Well Be Together Again.'
  • Musicians: Mike Metheny (flugelhorn, cornet, EVI), Paul Smith (piano), Roger Wilder (piano), Danny Embrey (guitar), Rod Fleeman (guitar), Bob Bowman (bass), Gerald Spaits (bass), Tommy Ruskin (drums) and the Soundtrek Big Band.
  • Short URL:
Login to post comments