You are here:Home>Jazz Spotlights>SWAY - Quien Sera by Anna (Acevedo) Lyman

SWAY - Quien Sera by Anna (Acevedo) Lyman

Latin heritage, a Detroit childhood, a 4-octave range, and a voice that is Tenor, Alto and Soprano help Anna deliver Jazz and Latin, with Soul and Salsa!

Anna (Acevedo) Lyman is a Latin-American, Latin-Jazz artist who is fusing Latin Jazz with Salsa, and the Motown Soul she loved during her Detroit childhood. By placing bluenotes and blues progressions into her Latin music, she hoped to create some unique flavours. She describes her style as "Bluenote Latin Jazz". Anna writes her lyrics in both Spanish and English in the same song, and also sings in Brazilian Portuguese.

Anna was born in Detroit to a Mexican-American Father and a Scotch/ Irish-American Mother. In her childhood, she was exposed to Sergio Mendes, Ramsay Lewis, Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles and many more wonderful, Jazz, Latin and Soul musicians. Anna was listening. In her late teens she emigrated to Canada, completed High School and also a 4-year Bachelor of Music in Jazz, Performance (Voice Major, Minor in Guitar), at VIU, on Canadas West Coast and Gulf Islands.

1. Lighter 2. Island Man 3. Secretos 4. Deme El Sol 9. !Baila Lupita!

Anna has appeared at International Jazz Festivals has been interviewed by the CBC Radio.
Her songs are mainly "historias" about Life Situational themes and Romance. She has family and other contacts in Mexico Puerto Rico and Brazil.

"She has a voice like Melted Chocolate" The Harbour City Star...

"A Voice like honey Songs like Wine" The Rutgers Observer Newark N.J.

For Further notes on this recording "Sway - Quien Sera" go to or'

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Anna (Acevedo) Lyman
  • CD Title: SWAY - Quien Sera
  • Year Released: 2008
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Record Label: ALM (indie) CD-Star Music
  • Artist's Instrument: Vocals
  • Tracks: Lighter, Island Man, Secretos, Deme El Sol, Sway, One Note Samba, Triste, Baila Lupita!, Dindi
  • Musicians: Sal Ferreiras (Percussion), Dan Brubeck (Drums tracks 7-8), Phil Dwyer (Tenor Sax), Rick Kilburn (Bass), Darryl Jahnke (Guitars tracks 1-2, 5-9), Bill Coon (Guitars tracks 3-4), Buff Allen (Drums tracks 1-6,9), Tony Foster (Piano)

Latest from

Login to post comments