You are here:Home>Jazz Spotlights>Unveiled by Deryo

Unveiled by Deryo

Derrick Youman, also known in the music business as Deryo , has been a vocalist, songwriter and producer since leaving college. Deryos expertise in giving the people what they want comes from what he claims is his god given talent and his desire to spread goodness. His debut as a professional recording artist was as a vocalist producer and songwriter. It took place under the Arista Records label as a featured lead vocalist with Herbie Hancock and the Headhunters. (The album entitled "Straight From the Gate"). Also during the early stages of his recording career he performed on Bennie Maupin's CD. "Slow Traffic To The Right."

After that Deryo stretched his wings and started his own publishing company entitled Deryo Music. Through his company Deryo has had the pleasure of publishing some of the songs he himself wrote and the drums. He says his music has allowed him to express his dynamic lyrical rhythmatic and melodic musical expressions.

Deryo has been wood shedding as of late and at this time he has written and recorded a CD of songs. This new CD of Deryo's is for yesterday today and tomorrows generation. He has put together a compilation of songs that will have people dancing and looking to it for relaxation and recreation. Deryo's motto is "music is my pleasure" and the fans who have heard his demo claim they are pleased. One person said the CD "Unveiled" is so tasty she's foaming at the mouth and can't wait to buy it. This CD has a spectrum ranging from funky grooves to tasty rockish licks soulful R&B expressions and popish textures layered with a jazz flavor and soulful heartfelt sweet vocals ready to let everyone enjoy a sound of music that would be joyfully heard by a universal concept of people. The name of the CD is "Unveiled" embarking upon the journey and the fact (the truth will always unveil ).


Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Deryo
  • CD Title: Unveiled
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Genre: Soul / Funk Jazz
  • Record Label: Will Records
  • Tracks: 1. I Do Believe My Ears 3:312. Wine and Dine 3:11 3. Impossible 4:37 4. I Sing 2:59 5. Changes 3:50 6. True to Yourself 3:42 7. Loose your Love 4:07 8. Turn to Learn 4:49 9. We Are 5:02 10. Talk to Me 4:1311. Smile 4:20 12. I Can 2:51 13. Now I Can See 4:00
Login to post comments